Sugar and Spice

October 30, 2007 Leah Foster
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Bunnies, flowers, and glitter. I love these three things. If this wasn’t an academic blog for class, I would probably post numerous articles those very categories.

According to “Posting with Passion:Blogs and the Politics of Gender,” I am just another “female blogger,” with nothing better to talk about. It is somewhat disheartening to discover that I am just another statistic, but it’s true nonetheless. I am a girl, and I happen to like blogs about bunnies and puppies. Therefore, I am no different than any other female blogger.

Evidently, the most important and influential bloggers out there, just so happen to be men. Girls like me, have no hope of achieving any kind prestige in the political world, by simply blogging about kitty cats and baby ducks. However, in the world of cute animals, I could become famous!! It all depends your interests and who your target audience is.

It would be nice to see more female bloggers making their presence known in the political blogsphere, but I’m not going to be the one to do it. I love Cute Overload, TokyoBunnie, and Sanrio Town. I’m not saying that those are the only sites I visit. I am equally addicted to digg, engadet, and techcrunch, I’m just saying that I am not going to stop loving the cute blogs just so I can make a point about feminism.

Boys like bunnies too.

Boys like bunnies too

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Everything Nice? « &hellip  |  October 30, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    […] 30, 2007 Everything Nice? Posted by slepe under blog on blog action   ChicaDeaLeah argues that “Posting with Passion: Blogs and the Politics of Gender” by Melissa Gregg […]

  • 2. TokyoBunnie  |  December 3, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Thank you for the shout out!! I try hard to blog cute-ness, and throw a few pro-lady posts in there from time to time. I feel strongly that girls don’t have a huge presence in the popular blog world as well, and it always seems difficult to blog about feminist related issues without alienating some readers. I am happy to know that I have a reader like you!!

  • 3. moicueshlepau  |  August 6, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    hello…i think being able to write a blog yourself is already an accomplishment. your voice here is already making a difference. We all blog for various intents but let me reassure you that a woman’s voice can always be heard. Pls browse blog at blogher.com to inspire more of that passion…xx
    leanne


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts